ECHL Signings for 2016-2017 Season

Congratulations to the following players for signing with ECHL teams for the 2016-2017 season!

Ben Lake – Alaska Aces

Ben Lake: Alaska Aces

Image courtesy of: Alaska Aces

Ryan Trenz – Alaska Aces

Ryan Trenz- Old Team

John Lidgett – Alaska Aces

John Lidgett

Nick Huard – Cincinnati Cyclones 

Nick Huard- Cinnicinati Cyclones

Image Courtesy of: Cincinnati Cyclones

Chase Golightly- Florida Everblades

Chase Golightly- Florida Everblades

Image Courtesy of: Florida Everblades





On July 11, 2016 the ECHL announced the new conference and divisional alignment for the 2016-2017 season. The new conferences and divisions are as follows:

Eastern Conference

North Division

Elmira Jackals Brampton Beast Adirondack Thunder Manchester Monarchs Reading Royals Wheeling Nailers

South Division

Atlanta Gladiators Cincinnati Cyclones Greenville Swamp RabbitsFlorida Everblades  Norfolk Admirals Orlando Solar Bears South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Central Division

Fort Wayne Komets Indy Fuel Kalamazoo Wings Quad City Mallards Toledo Walleye Wichita Thunder


Mountain Division

Alaska Aces Allen Americans Colorado Eagles Idaho Steelheads Missouri Mavericks Rapid City Rush Utah Grizzlies


2016-2017 ECHL Playoff Changes

The ECHL has also announced changes to the 2016-2017 Kelly Cup Playoffs. The first two rounds will be played in each of the four divisions, then the 1st-place division winner will play the fourth-place and second-place will play third place. The winners of those two games will meet in the Division Finals, and then play the winner of the Division in their conference. Following this, the winner of that conference will play the winner of the other conference for the Kelly Cup Finals. This format will cut down on both travel costs and fatigue for the teams during the playoffs.